Traditional Songs From Rottingdean


+ £3.00 P&P (UK only).
For orders outside of the UK, please contact



In 1963 the English Folk Dance and Song Society released an LP of unaccompanied singing that has had a tremendous influence on the folk song revivals of Britain, Ireland and the United States. The album collected together a number of recordings of Bob and Ron Copper of Rottingdean in Sussex, recordings made by the reknowned folksong collector Peter Kennedy during the late 1950s. The Copper Family can trace their roots in traditional song back at least two hundred years. Their rare southern English harmony is presented at its most outstanding in these classic performances from the 1950s and early ’60s. To celebrate the centenary of Bob Copper’s birth, Fledg’ling Records are releasing a new CD edition of this seminal album. The package recreates all the original artwork and Bob Copper’s complete sleevenotes (the original EFDSS LP only contained a shortened version of the essay).

  1. Two Brethren
  2. Month Of May
  3. Honest Labourer
  4. Birds In The Spring
  5. Shepherd In Love
  6. Threshing Song
  7. Dame Durden
  8. Season Round
  9. Innocent Hare
  10. Lark In The Morning
  11. Hard Times Of Old England
  12. Spencer The Rover
  13. Spring Glee
  14. Good Ale
  15. Babes In The Wood
  16. Cupid’s Garden